• Wine and Spirit

    Reviews Awards

    View our platinum reviews

V Reserva

2011 Spain Rioja
89 Points

Berry and plum aromas are so ripe that raisin enters the picture. This feels medium to full, with soft acidity. Flavors of chocolate and wood spice share space with ripe berry fruit, while a full, long finish deals mocha and raisin notes.

Wine Enthusiast April 2017

V Reserva

2011 Spain Rioja
88 Points

Light yet firm, this red offers savory notes of licorice, coffee and tobacco that frame the dried cherry and herbal flavors. Orange peel acidity and spicy accents impart a traditional character. Drink now through 2020. 

Wine Spectator March 31, 2017

Crianza

2013 Spain Rioja
89 Points

Juicy fruit flavors of black cherry and plum mingle with minerally and smoky notes in this firm red. Not showy, but has good density, with balanced tannins and acidity. Drink now through 2023. 

Best Values Award
Wine Spectator March 31, 2017
Faustino, Bodegas Crianza bottle

V Reserva

2010 Spain Rioja
90 Points

Flying the flag of traditional Rioja, this has light strawberry and brandied cherry flavors to balance the gingery feel of the tannins. It develops well with air, leaving some of its coconut scents of American oak behind, while gaining tangy freshness. Decant it to serve with roasted piquillo peppers.

Wine & Spirits December 2016
Best Buy

I Gran Reserva

2004 Spain Rioja
91 Points

Reedy red fruit aromas feature a note of green. This is tannic in feel, with a mix of red-leaning raspberry, currant and strawberry flavors. Tea, herb and other grassy notes make for a dry finish. Overall this is excellent, although it does have an herbal character. Drink through 2028.

Wine Enthusiast April 2016
Platinum

I Gran Reserva

2001 Spain Rioja
91 Points

Rusty and mature looking, this is woodsy, dry and rooty on the nose, with whiffs of tree bark and tobacco running alongside cherry and berry notes. It's mature, with flavors of stewed plum, herbs and spice that are straight from the textbook, while the finish is dry, earthy and showing core acidity.

Wine Enthusiast July 2014
Platinum

I Gran Reserva

2006 Spain Rioja

Beautifully structured with classic Rioja aromas and flavors. Raspberry jam, black cherry, smoky cedar, leather, and spice on the nose, with a touch of espresso and dark chocolate. Smooth and rich on the plate, with red and black fruit, flavors over baking spice, sandalwood, and star anise. Balanced, with mature tannins and long finish. Showing extremely well.

Recommended Award
Sante January 2014

I Gran Reserva

2001 Spain Rioja
97 Points

Deliciously decadent, with extraordinary vitality on the palate and a long, unique finish. A jewel at this price. I gave this wine full marks- it was perfect. I cannot think of any other wine, in this price range, that provides so much complexity, elegance, style, classicism and length.

Year's Best - Top Wine of 2013 Award
Decanter September 2013
Platinum

I Gran Reserva

1998 Spain Rioja
90 Points

Smooth and supple, this traditional red offers complex flavors of dried cherry, licorice, tea, tobacco and spice, joined by light tannins and lively acidity. This gives up power for grace, and remains fresh and alluring.

Wine Spectator April 30, 2012
Platinum

I Gran Reserva

2000 Spain Rioja
88 Points

The 2000 Gran Reserva, a blend of 86% Tempranillo, 9% Graciano and 5% Mazuelo aged for 26 months in American and French oak, has a dusty, leathery nose with touches of soy. The palate is nicely balanced with leathery black fruit and a dry, smooth licorice-tinged finish.

Wine Advocate August 2011

I Gran Reserva

1988 Spain Rioja

This transported me to a Rioja winery; I really felt like I was in among the barrels and the bottles aging, and the slight wininess that you smell in a cellar. This was the entire package for me - it had all the markers you would want in a gran reserva, with a really delicious, compelling palate.

Sommelier Journal July 2010

Crianza

2007 Spain Rioja
87 Points

The 2007 Faustino Crianza is 100% Tempranillo that spent 14 months in oak. Scents of cedar, spice box, violets, and black cherry lead to a forward, elegant, spicy wine with a smooth texture and good balance.

Wine Advocate June 2010
Faustino, Bodegas Crianza bottle

V Reserva

2004 Spain Rioja

Aged for one year in oak casks, has an unusual bouquet of hops, canned dark cherry, caramel and orange marmalade before flavors of the same cherry, caramel and marmalade plus almost burnt sugar and light, dry tannin. Everything carries through the medium-broad, medium-long finish. Well balanced, structured and integrated.

Colorado Wine News December 2009

V Reserva

2004 Spain Rioja
92 Points

Rioja, Spain's most widely known wine region, continues to offer consumers wines with a fabulous combination of ripe fruit flavors and earthy elements. Not a modern fruit bomb, this gorgeous, traditional blend of Tempranillo (90%) and Mazuelo delivers a stylish balance of bright red fruit and savory notes surrounded by polished tannins. It's a supple, but not soft, mid-weight wine with energizing acidity and a hint of spicy oak that makes it ideally suited for a meal. It's an excellent choice - at an attractive price - for a special occasion.

Wine Review Online September 2009
Platinum